The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a statutory curriculum for all children between birth to age 5. This is a very important stage in your child’s life which helps them to prepare for their future learning and development. We ensure when your child joins us until their final day that their early years’ experience is happy, active, exciting, fun and secure whilst supporting their development, care and learning needs. 

Areas of learning

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development. We know that young children do not develop in a fixed way. Young children’s learning is often driven by their interests and unique needs. At Starfish we ensure that our curriculum is flexible and fully tailored to your child so that they develop and learn in the best possible way. 

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. 

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:  

  • Communication and language;  
  • Physical development; 
  • Personal, social and emotional development. 

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:  

  • Literacy;  
  • Mathematics;  
  • Understanding the world;
  • Expressive arts and design. 

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. 

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.



'together aspire, together achieve,
together we are stronger...'